Top 10 Most Destructive Batsmen in 2012

T20 has made cricket more fascinating for batsmen and they have become more destructive because there are only 20 overs to play for batsmen but on the other hand bowler find it difficult to adjust in this format. Destructive batsmen don’t spare bowlers in 50 over game because they are natural hitters of cricket ball. They play their game and make crowd jump out of their seats to watch them. Here is the list of most destructive batsmen of cricket in 2012. The destruction from batsmen was result of limited field at the beginning overs of 50 over game. Sanath Jayasuria was the first one to make best use of limited field and the aggression of Srilankan Cricket team was worth watching in ICC World Cup 1996 which they won. Pakistani batting was very much attacking in next world cup where they scored runs at rapid pace at the end of innings. Let’s have a look at top 10 most destructive batsmen of 2012.

10. Michael Hussey

Micheal Hussey is a real threat for opposing side because he is not a blaster that gets himself out early. He tries to play till the last ball. His most prominent performance in this regard is against Pakistani off-spinner, Saeed Ajmal, in 2nd Semi-Final of ICC Wold T20.

9. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni is a leader in true sense for his aggressive performance through out the ICC World Cup 2011 which at the end was in the hand of Dhoni’s hands. His batting average in limited overs cricket is more than 50 with strike rate almost touching 90 per 100 balls.

8. Yusuf Pathan

Another Indian in the list of most attacking and threatening batsmen of 2012 is Yusuf Pathan who hold strike rate of almost 150 in fastest version of cricket and his strike rate in ODIs is just behind Shahid Afridi.

7. Brendon Mccullum

Brendon Mccullum opens the innings for New Zealand in all formats and has scored century in the shortest format of cricket. He is the also the wicket-keeper for his team but he wishes to play for his team as a batsman only.

6. Tilakaratne Dilshan

Dilshan belongs to the team which introduced aggressive batting in late 90s. He scored century in T20 last year but this year he has been more successful for him where he scored two centuries in Common Wealth Bank Series.

5. Kevin Pietersen

Pietersen is a stylish player who is known for inventing ‘switch hit reverse-sweep’ which got popular in the advertisement during Indian Premier League (IPL). With the height of 6’4″, he stands as cricketing giant on the pitch.

4. Hashim Amla

Hashim Amla is a very religious cricket who does not want to be the part of alcohol promotion. His batting style suits limited format (50 over game) because he likes to hit hard which is a good sign for an opening batsman of South Africa that has Jacques Kallis in their batting line who can play defensive.

3. Chris Gayle

Gayle remained out of West Indies Cricket team but not out of Cricket because he actively participated in Indian Premier League (IPL) and Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). He has scored 7 centuries in T20 cricket which is a record for any batsman.

2. Shahid Afridi

Every child playing cricket in street wants to be Boom Boom Afridi when he grows old. He has not scored centuries in T20 like Chris Gayle but he is renowned for his stroke making abilities. He holds the record to hit highest number of sixes in ODI cricket. The record of scoring fastest century in ODI Cricket also belongs to Boom Boom.

1. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag is a threatening name in the world of Cricket. It was very hard to broke the record of Saeed Anwar’s 194 but Sachin did it and it was assumed that Sachin’s record will stay there for a long period of time but Sehwag went on to score 219 runs in a single ODI match. Would you believe that Sehwag’s strike rate in Test Cricket is far better than the strike rate of most of the middle order batsmen in ODI? You have to believe it because he does not spare anyone in any format of Cricket and he is the most destructive, aggressive and attacking batsman of Cricket in 2012.

Share This Post

Related Articles

© 2015 10 Top Ten. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Offered by Musaddique Ayaz · Designed for 10 Top Ten